The Purpose of Driving a Taxi

Greetings from Kiwi Country,

I am humbled and grateful and filled with joy by the number of people who have been supporting me through my mission; thank you all so very much!

I realized recently that a big part of my work here involves listening to stories. Everyone in this city has something to tell especially when it comes to the experiences of the earthquakes that began in Christchurch three years ago. It seems that my fresh set of ears and naïve understanding of the situation is a good outlet for these weary souls. Sitting and listening sometimes feels purposeless and unhelpful, but I know it is often the best thing I can do.

I heard a story this past week from a friend who was at the local shopping center during the February 2011 quake. She had no way of getting home after the earthquake hit since she had used the bus to get there, so she sat helpless waiting for a way home. A woman in a wheelchair approached her in the parking lot and offered to share her taxi with my friend. The driver filled every seat and floor space in his car and started to drive as many people as he could away from the shopping center. Despite concern for his own family and the frustrations of driving a car full of anxious people around town, he did his job without complaint and without expectation of full payment. Casting off his own desire to go home, he threw his energy into getting strangers safely to their families.

I have been thinking a lot lately about my purpose here in Christchurch and also in my future after my time of service. It seems to me that our only purpose is to embrace the moment we have with as much love and hope as possible. It does not seem to matter where we are or what our education and skills are, we all have the same capacity to love and embrace the day we are given. A taxi driver can be just as much a hero as anyone else and listening to stories about earthquakes can be just as necessary as any other task. I am going to try to abandon myself to each task with a full heart and expectant faith that my future is secure and I will be contented.

“In Thee is rest which forgetteth all toil, for there is none other with Thee, nor are we to seek those many other things, which are not what Thou art: but Thou, Lord, alone hast made me dwell in hope.”                          

                                                                   – Augustine

 

Love,

Annie

 

Donation instructions:

  • Go to https://www.chase.com/
  • Products & Services>Online Banking>Chase Quickpay
  • Scroll down>Enroll now
  • Log in if you are a Chase user
  • Or go to “Not a Chase customer? Sign up now”
  • Fill out the required fields

Email me with questions: annietacc@gmail.com

1 thought on “The Purpose of Driving a Taxi

  1. mccormas

    Thanks for your sharing Annie…it is insightful and inspiring. What an amazing lesson to learn! You are such a witness to embracing that moment when so many opportunities of disengaging are plausible. Keep on listening!

    Reply

Leave a comment